Sorry, honey. My BlackBerry and I need some space

August 14, 2007

I know this may come as a shock to you, dear. Me and my BlackBerry 8300 Curve (which I nicknamed “Double Bee“) have been spending a lot of time together lately and, well, things just sort of happened.

At first, it was the occasional web browsing session. My BlackBerry isn’t the most robust surfing platform, no, but it’s reasonably fast and pleasing to use for sites that support mobile. Once I set Google Reader as my home page for “Double Bee”‘s browser, there was no going back. I was hooked. (Side note: It just seems wrong somehow to have access to RSS feeds while you’re in the bathroom at work, doesn’t it?)

As time went on, my BlackBerry was able to provide access to my Gmail. Before, I didn’t even realize I needed access to my email 24/7, but now I’ve become very attached. By using filters and labels, it doubles as a task list that I always have with me.

Next came Google Maps. Oh, Google Maps via BlackBerry, where have you been all my directionally-challenged, perpetually-lost in my own hometown life? Take the things you love about Google (intelligent parsing – ever tried just typing in a street name? – and directions/location info, to name 2) and now put them in your pocket. Forget needing your laptop. Forget needing wi-fi.

True story: hungry for some take-out on my way home one evening, I typed in the one-word name of a local pizza joint and nothing else into Google Maps. 10 seconds later, “Double Bee” was showing me a map with the 2 locations for the restaurant. I picked the one closest to my house and pressed the call button. The rest is delicious, pizza-filled history.

When you add in the fact that I got it for -$10, there’s really no comparison, honey. And nothing screams, “I work in IT! Hear me roar! Yes, this is duct tape on my glasses!“, like a BlackBerry in a belt holster.

How could it not be true love?

One Response to “Sorry, honey. My BlackBerry and I need some space”

  1. krftsman Says:

    “It just seems wrong somehow to have access to RSS feeds while you’re in the bathroom at work, doesn’t it?”

    If that’s wrong, I don’t wanna be right! No more trying to hide the magazine/book/newspaper on the way to the work restroom. ;p


Leave a Reply

